Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congressman Ralph Abraham

Representing the 5th District of Louisiana

Five CenLa parishes declared eligible for farm disaster relief

November 13, 2017
Press Release

WASHINGTON – Congressman Ralph Abraham, M.D., R-Alto, announced Monday that five parishes within the 5th Congressional District have received natural disaster designations from the US Department of Agriculture, meaning that farmers are eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA).

USDA Sec. Sonny Perdue granted a primary disaster declaration for Grant and Rapides parishes. Avoyelles, Winn and La Salle parishes were designated as contiguous disaster areas. Damages in these parishes occurred during Hurricane Harvey and the accompanying weather system.

These declarations make farmers eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers have eight months from this disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. Each loan is considered on its own merit, and farmers are encouraged to contact their local FSA offices for more information.

“Many farmers live crop-to-crop; a single disaster can ruin a farmer financially. I appreciate Sec. Perdue for this declaration so that Louisiana’s farmers have access to the funds they need to make it through this disaster,” Dr. Abraham said.

Cameron and Natchitoches parishes also received primary disaster declarations. Allen, Bienville, Calcasieu, De Soto, Evangeline, Jefferson Davis, Red River, Sabine, Vermilion and Vernon parishes also received contiguous disaster declarations.