Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Flickr icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

Congressman Ralph Abraham

Representing the 5th District of Louisiana

Abraham statement on initial federal emergency declaration

March 13, 2016
Press Release


MONROE – Congressman Ralph Abraham, M.D., R-Alto, announced Sunday, March 13, that President Obama has declared a federal state of emergency for seven Louisiana parishes affected by recent flooding.

Gov. John Bel Edwards requested Sunday that Ouachita, Morehouse, Richland, Grant, Bossier, Claiborne and Webster parishes be declared federal emergencies. The President granted that request Sunday. The federal emergency declaration means that individuals, businesses and other entities will be eligible for federal emergency funds to aid in the flood recovery.

“This historic flood has displaced thousands of people and destroyed property throughout my district in Northeast, Central and Southeast Louisiana. They will need federal assistance to help recovery from this disaster. I appreciate Gov. Edwards and President Obama for requesting and granting federal assistance so that we can begin rebuilding and moving forward,” Dr. Abraham said.

The emergency declaration can be amended to include other parishes after parishes complete damage assessments. Those who live in parishes not listed in the initial declaration should continue to report their damages to their local governments, and local officials should compile that information and forward it to the Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness.

Dr. Abraham will continue to assist local governments in obtaining federal disaster declarations, and he will continue to help facilitate requests for assistance as he has done throughout the flood event.

“I have personally visited each region visited of my district affected by the storm. The devastation is widespread. I’m confident that once other parishes report their damage assessments, they will be included in amended disaster declaration requests,” Dr. Abraham said.

Individuals in the seven parishes that have already received a federal disaster declaration can register with FEMA by applying online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362. Those who have a speech disability or hearing loss should call 1-800-462-7585 directly. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service can call 1-800-621-3362.

Additional Resources: FEMA Public Assistance Fact Sheet, FEMA Public Assistance Approval Process Fact Sheet