Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Instagram icon
YouTube icon
RSS icon

More than 100 members of Congress reject pay during shutdown

January 18, 2019
In The News

As federal employees brace themselves for their second missed paycheck should the government not reopen in time to make payroll by Tuesday, some members of Congress have decided to join them in a show of solidarity and refuse their paychecks.

So far, 102 members of Congress say they will turn down their paychecks during the partial government shutdown, according to social media posts and statements reviewed by CNN. That comprises 20 senators and 82 representatives, with members from both parties making up a similar proportion of those going without pay. Twenty-four representatives and two new senators passing on pay are newly elected and were sworn in this year.

Here are the members of Congress who won’t receive their paychecks during the shutdown:

House of Representatives
Rep. Ralph Abraham (R-Louisiana)
Rep. Rick Allen (R-Georgia)
Rep. Kelly Armstrong (new, R-North Dakota)
Rep. Cindy Axne (D-Iowa)
Rep. Don Bacon (R-Nebraska)
Rep. Jack Bergman (R-Michigan)
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-Oregon)
Rep. Susan Brooks (R-Indiana)
Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-Florida)
Rep. Tim Burchett (new, R-Tennessee)
Rep. Kevin Calvert (R-California)
Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-California)
Rep. John Carter (R-Texas)
Rep. Buddy Carter (R-Georgia)
Rep. Liz Cheney (R-Wyoming)
Rep. Jim Costa (D-California)
Rep. Angie Craig (new, D-Minnesota)
Rep. Dan Censhaw (new, R-Texas)
Rep. John Curtis (R-Utah)
Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-Washington) (donating to the Northwest Immigrant Rights Project)
Rep. Antonio Delgado (new, D-New York)
Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-New York)
Rep. Dwight Evans (D-Pennsylvania)
Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pennsylvania)
Rep. Chuck Fleischmann (R-Tennessee)
Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-North Carolina)
Rep. Greg Gianforte (R-Montana)
Rep. Lance Gooden (new, R-Texas)
Rep. Kay Granger (R-Texas)
Rep. Garret Graves (R-Louisiana)
Rep. Mark Green (new, R-Tennessee)
Rep. Kevin Hern (R-Oklahoma) (donating to veterans groups)
Rep. French Hill (R-Arkansas)
Rep. George Holding (R-North Carolina)
Rep. Will Hurd (R-Texas)
Rep. Dusty Johnson (new, R-South Dakota)
Rep. David Joyce (R-Ohio)
Rep. John Joyce (new, R-Pennsylvania)
Rep. David Kustoff (R-Tennessee)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-Colorado)
Rep. Bob Latta (R-Ohio)
Rep. Susie Lee (D-Nevada)
Rep. Elaine Luria (new, D-Virginia)
Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-New York) (donating to food banks in Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens)
Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-New York)
Rep. Ben McAdams (new, D-Utah)
Rep. Mark Meadows (R-North Carolina)
Rep. Paul Mitchell (R-Michigan)
Rep. Seth Moulton (D-Massachusetts)
Rep. Ralph Norman (R-South Carolina) (donating to a charity to be determined)
Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-Arizona)
Rep. Pete Olson (R-Texas)
Rep. Chris Pappas (new, D-New Hampshire)
Rep. Greg Pence (R-Indiana)
Rep. Denver Riggleman (new, R-Virginia) (donating salary to volunteer fire department)
Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-Delaware) (donating to the First State Community Action Agency, the Food Bank of Delaware and the Coast Guard Mission Fund)
Rep. Max Rose (new, D-New York)
Rep. Chip Roy (new, R-Texas)
Rep. Dutch Ruppersburger (D-Maryland)
Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (D-Pennsylvania)
Rep. Brad Schneider (D-Illinois)
Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-Oregon) (donating to an Oregon charity)
Rep. David Schweikert (R-Arizona)
Rep. Brad Sherman (D-California)
Rep. Mikie Sherrill (new, D-New Jersey)
Rep. Elissa Slotkin (new, D-Michigan)
Rep. Xochitl Torres Small (new, D-New Mexico)
Rep. Jason Smith (R-Missouri)
Rep. Abigail Spanberger (new, D-Virginia)
Rep. Ross Spano (new, R-Florida)
Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-New York)
Rep. Van Taylor (new, R-Texas)
Rep. David Trone (new, D-Maryland)
Rep. Tim Walberg (R-Michigan)
Rep. Mark Walker (R-North Carolina)
Rep. Michael Waltz (new, R-Florida)
Rep. Steve Watkins (new, R-Kansas)
Rep. Peter Welch (D-Vermont)
Rep. Jennifer Wexton (D-Virginia)
Rep. Roger Williams (R-Texas)
Rep. Rob Wittman (R-Virginia) (donating to a charity to be determined)
Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-New York)

To read the full story, click here.